What are stages of chiropractic care?

There are three stages of chiropractic care:

  1. Acute
  2. Rehabilitation
  3. Support


1st Stage of Chiropractic Care – The Acute Stage

The acute stage eliminates or reduces the majority of the discomfort and stabilises the condition in the shortest amount of time. During this phase of care, visits will be frequent. Repeated visits will be required to reduce or eliminate the symptoms. We will however keep the number of appointments to a minimum.

2nd Stage of Chiropractic Care – The Rehabilitation Stage

The objective of the second phase of your treatment program is to correct any underlying spinal or joint injury. Additionally the chiropractor will aim to work on: strengthening the muscles, improve spinal function and provide more complete or optimum healing of tissues. Visits occur at reducing frequency and care is supplemented by exercises and modification of your daily and work habits.

3rd Stage of Chiropractic Care – The Support Stage

Supportive care is designed to maintain your improved state, and prevent the return of the original condition once spinal correction has been attained. Regular attention catches small problems before they become serious. Prevention saves time and money by helping you stay well. This is not appropriate for all patients and will be discussed when necessary by your chiropractor.

At The City of London Chiropractor Clinic we do not advocate every stage for every patient. We will always give you our advice but allow you to make your informed choice. It is never our intension to keep you coming unnecessarily forever.